Planning Commission


The purpose of the Planning Commission is to engage in planning programs for the physical, social, and economic growth and development of the area within its jurisdiction. The Planning Commission is responsible for the preparation and periodical revision of the comprehensive plan as prescribed by state law, and for the implementation of the comprehensive plan by preparing and recommending measures to city council including zoning ordinances, regulations regarding the subdivision of land, the official zoning map, landscaping ordinances, capital improvement programs, and other policies and procedures needed to ensure the proper implementation of the comprehensive plan. The day to day management of the planning functions is handled by the Planning Director /Director of Community and Economic Development, who also functions as the Zoning Administrator for the city.

Applicable Law

The purposes and powers of a planning commission are defined by the Local Government Comprehensive Planning Enabling Act of 1994. This state law spells out the roles, purposes, and responsibilities of the Planning Commission. This law requires local governments to undertake comprehensive planning and requires that they form a planning commission to undertake comprehensive planning.

Applicable Local Code

The Planning Commission is governed by City Code Sections 54‐26 through 54‐32. This portion of the code was passed by ordinance in 2003. It replaced previous sections of the code relating to the planning commission from 1999.

Meeting Dates

The Planning Commission meets as needed the 2nd Tuesday of every month in the City Council Chambers when there is business to come before the Board. A meeting is not held if there is no business to come before the Planning Commission.  


State law specifies that a Municipal Planning Commission may have between five and twelve members. City Code Section 54‐27 specifies that the Planning Commission for the City of Clinton shall have seven members. Members serve three year terms, and are limited to two consecutive terms. Individuals who have served two terms may be reappointed for additional terms after a one year absence from the commission. The commission chairperson serves a one year term, and is elected by the Planning Commissioners during their January meeting. Term specifications are addressed in Sections 54‐27 and 54‐29 of the City Code.