Form of Government

The City of Clinton operates under the Council-Manager form of government. Six City Council Members are elected from six different geographic wards of the city. The Mayor is elected at large.

The Mayor and Council appoint the City Manager, City Attorney, Chief Magistrate, City Judges, Mayor Pro-Tem, and members of the Planning Commission, Design Review Board, and Board of Zoning Appeals.

The Mayor chairs the City Council which acts as the policy making legislative body of the City.

The City Manager administers the city government, carrying out the policies of City Council.

In Clinton, the Mayor and City Council serve part-time and are elected on a non-partisan basis. Under the council-manager form of government, the City Council acts as the legislative body in establishing policy and law and the City Manager handles the day-today management of the City organization.

The Mayor is elected at-large (city-wide) for a four-year term and serves as the presiding officer at city council meetings. The six City Council Members are elected from districts for staggered four-year terms. The City Council appoints a professional City Manager, who serves as the Council’s chief advisor, and the City Manager appoints the employees of the City.

For more information about types of municipal government in South Carolina click here.

In this section you will find the following information:

Mayor and Council

Ward Maps

City Council Meeting Agendas and Minutes

City Manager

Appointed Boards and Commissions